News, Panjab University

Annual Literary Fest

Chandigarh March 17, 2023

Avant Garde

The Literary Society of UILS organised Avant Garde Annual Literary Fest which was held on 16th and 17th March 2023 respectively. In a first of its kind, this Annual Literary Fest encompassed two days of fun academic events in the three languages- English, Hindi and Punjabi under the able guidance of their teacher coordinators- Prof. Dr. Sasha and Prof. Dr. Chanchal Narang. The Presidents of the Literary Society for the academic year of 2022-2023 are Jaya Kohli (English), Bharat Jangra (Hindi) and Navneet Chaudhary (Punjabi) respectively. The Executive members of the Literary Society are Chitvan, Charvi, Simran (Technical Head), Inderpreet, Kirat, Yukta, Sechit, Sahaj, Pranav and Fiza.

Following the enraptured festivities of the first day of the Avant Garde, on 17th March 2023, that is, the last day of the Fest, a Punjabi Translation (Anuvad) Competition was held in the Moot Court Hall, whereby for the first buzzer round, the participants were to identify the punjabi songs which had been translated in English. In the second round, the qualified participants were to translate the given English songs in Punjabi. This contest was an exuberant experience in itself, full of laughter and enjoyment for everyone present. To conclude the Avant Garde, the Final Round for the Intradepartmental Debate Competition was conducted on the topic ‘it is time to step out of blacks and whites in the Indian court room’. The winners of the Intradepartmental Debate Competition are (1) Pranay, Riya Jain, (2) Akshita Girdhar, (3) Garima Gupta, Kartik Sharma, Smiksha Hans and the Best Speaker has been awarded to Somya Sharma, Jasmeen Kaur and Riya Jain respectively. The winners of the Hindi Speech Competition are Smiksha Hans, Minakshi, Chirag and the consolation prize has been awarded to Paramjit. The winner of the Punjabi Translation (Anuvad) Competition ਬਹਿ ਕੇਵੇਖ ਜਵਾਨਾ is Smiksha Hans, the runner ups are Simran and Amitesh Kaur and the consolation prize has been awarded to Parul Attri respectively. A heartiest congratulations to all the winners and the participants. It was due to the efforts of our Presidents, Executive members, the volunteers, the audience and the participants that this year’s Annual Literary Fest was a massive success.

Read More :-  PU Results

Spread the love

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Instagram Feed

Facebook Feed

Facebook Pagelike Widget

Currency Converter