Haryana, News

36 obsolete laws will be abolished in Haryana – Chief Secretary

Chandigarh, September 16 :-   Haryana Chief Secretary, Sh. Sanjeev Kaushal while presiding over a meeting regarding the repeal of old and obsolete laws/acts said that  work on the repeal of 36 such laws is in process.

        While directing the Administrative Secretaries to take action the Chief Secretary also directed them to complete the process of repeal of such laws at the earliest.

He further said that so far 20 such laws/Acts have been repealed.

        As per the directions of the Chief Minister, the Haryana State Review Committee headed by Justice (Retd.) Iqbal Singh, Commissioner of Gurdwara Commission was constituted.  According to the recommendations of this Committee and in consultation with the 2nd Haryana Law Commission, it has been decided to repeal these obsolete laws/Acts, said the Chief Secretary.

        During the meeting, he further informed that the Haryana State Review Committee had recommended repeal of 56 old and obsolete laws/Acts along with amendments in 6 laws/Acts. Thereafter, the second Haryana Law Commission was constituted by the State Government and it was necessary to consult the Commission before repealing such Acts, he added.

        The Chief Secretary said that 20 such laws/Acts have been repealed so far out of 56 following due process. Of these, 19 Acts pertain to the Revenue Department and one to the Power Department. The remaining will also be repealed soon after taking departmental action. Apart from this, work is being done on repealing of 36 laws/acts of Urban Local Bodies, Labour, Industry, Higher Education, Home Department, Agriculture, Housing, Excise and Taxation, Law and Legislative, Political and Parliamentary Affairs, Social Justice and Empowerment and Transport Departments, he added.

        The second Haryana Law Commission must be consulted before repealing or amending such Acts, related to which some matters are pending in the courts, informed the Chief Secretary.

        He further informed that the Punjab Village Common Land (Regulation) Act, 1961, Haryana Panchayati Raj Act, 1994, Haryana Right to Service Act, 2014 have been amended out of the total six proposed. The work on the rest is in progress, he added.

        The Additional Chief Secretary and Financial Commissioner, Revenue and Disaster Management Department, Sh. VS Kundu, Additional Chief Secretary, Home Department, Sh. TVSN Prasad, Additional Chief Secretary, Finance Department, Sh. Anurag Rastogi, Additional Chief Secretary, Industries and Commerce Department, Sh. Anand Mohan Sharan, Commissioner and Secretary, Social Justice and Empowerment Department, Sh. Rajeev Ranjan, Commissioner and Secretary, Irrigation and Water Resources Department, Sh. Pankaj Agarwal and Special Secretary, Personnel Department, Sh. Pankaj and other officers were present in the meeting.


Read  More  :-  RERA restrains sale, purchase of properties of Neo Square for repeated non-compliance

Spread the love

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Instagram Feed

Facebook Feed

Facebook Pagelike Widget

Currency Converter